Beautiful People // Author Writing Progress Edition

Beautiful People // Author Writing Progress Edition

BeautifulPeopleBlogButton-PF2_zps5c587c9e

Those of you who know me or have been following my blog for a bit (hi, and thanks, loves 😉 ) may or may not know that I’m a terrible procrastinater and a person who really shouldn’t have the title of writer. I mean, the thing is I don’t actually write most of the time?? Or any of the time??? Nevertheless! I still call myself a writer. Even though the highest I’ve probably ever reached on a project is maybe like … 35k? I’m not even sure, I’d probably have to go check.

Even though my actual qualifications are … somewhat doubtable (shhhh. Don’t tell) I’m joining in with the monthly Beautiful People by the lovely Cait and Sky at Paperfury and Further Up and Further In (respectively). The theme this month is Author Writing Progress Edition so I’m hoping I actually have some answers??

Divider2THE QUESTIONS

 

  • How do you decide which project to work on?

Eenie-Meenie-Miney-Mo, usually. I honestly just choose what interests me the most? This’ll usually make me exited about the project for a period that lasts a couple weeks to a couple months in which I’ll work on the project. This will eventually die out and the project will sit gathering dust as I work on something else. THEN I will hopefully come back to it at some point.

200.gif

Divider2

  •  How long does it usually take you to finish a project?

Depends what you count as “finish a project”. I’ve never actually finished all the editing steps to have a polished project, and I’ve actually … only written “the end” on a project once, which since then I’ve been re-writting. Basically, I’m not sure yet. 😛

giphy

Divider2

  • Do you have any routines to put you in the writing mood?

Not in particular. I usually just start writing, to tell you the truth. If I know I’m going to be writing for a while I might grab some snacks, and start playing some non-distracting music. If I’m stuck but desperately trying to write I’ll probably go over to my writing Pinterest boards to get inspired and … stay there for about 35 hours. *coughs*

giphy1

Divider2

  • What time of day do you write best?

The darkest of night.
I should probably get into the habit of doing something productive and healthy like waking up early in the morning and writing for an hour but …

anigif_enhanced-buzz-28428-1399318920-11

Divider2

  • Are there any authors you think you have a similar style to?

I … write in too many genres and change my style too much??? Like … I don’t even know man.

Divider2

  • Why did you start writing, and why do you keep writing?

I started writing in 2012 when I was a smol … geez. I think I was ten? But yeah, I did NaNo back then in 2012 because … I think … I have no actual idea. I thought it would be fun. Little did I know …

I’m still writing now because I have so many stories in my head that I would probably go crazier if I didn’t write them down. 😛 I also! Think writing is enjoyable, and even though it causes me great pain it is my smol child that I will love forever.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-28755-1376341683-4

Divider2

  • What’s the hardest thing you’ve written?

I just skip all the hard parts and haven’t gotten back to them. Em … I honestly can’t think anything off the top of my head? I could say what I’ve written most poorly but that wasn’t necessarily hard to write, if ya know what I mean.

nope

Divider2

  • Is there a project you want to tackle someday but you don’t feel ready yet?

Yeee, actually! In 2015 NaNo I wrote a historical Christian fiction romance book shh, I know that turned out … very gagworthy. I still love the plot and want to re-write it probably more as a contemporary Christian fiction (?) but! I feel the need to mature more so I have an actual idea what I’m talking about so the book doesn’t make people wish to throw up. ^.^

tumblr_n32wezves41tw1vhco1_500

Divider2

  • What writing goals did you make for 2017 and how are they going?

I think basically what I said was “actually write for once in your puny little life” in which case … they’re going pretty great? 😛 Em, I wanted to write in the November NaNo, which isn’t upon us currently, and I wanted to plan/write Eigengrau and probably Exemplar which I am working on Eigengrau right now so that’s pretty good …? I’m not a very goal oriented person, my friens.

Divider2

  • Describe your writing process in 3 words or a gif!

“How about … no.”
Or! Or!
“I’m dying, Frank.”
Or …
“Does it exist?” I think this is the best one so far. *snods* But I need gifs …

tenor

And that … about sums up my writing process.


So … I hope you actually found that mildly entertaining/enjoyable.

In other news! I’m currently suffering from “creative blog post writing block” the terrible disease that has come to infect even the best people. I have several possible ideas for posts and I’ve started writing them but I’ve felt completely unmotivated and dead inside and it’s really not that much fun. Thus why I didn’t post on Thursday last week. I probably could have pounded something else but it was causing me a lot of stress and I realized that it probably wouldn’t have been a very high quality post and that’s not fair to you guys.

 Also! In more other news (because this is obviously important) I have fallen drastically in love with the music from Dear Evan Hansen and I’ve fallen in love once more with Fall Out Boy‘s not-really-new-anymore-but-still-sort-of-new release Young and Menace and … aqeipurgnerg I’m just dying and fangirling over here, don’t mind me.

Sooooo … I’m hoping that I’ll conquer my weird block and actually get out an original quality post at some point like Thursday. Imma make my brain work, guys. Until then though, I’d love to hear from y’all so …

Letschat

Have y’all done the Beautiful People meme this month? How goes Camp NaNo for those doing it? Have you heard Dear Evan Hansen or Young And Menace? How goes life in general? Comment below if ya like!

SignOff

17 thoughts on “Beautiful People // Author Writing Progress Edition

  1. Yup! Just did it. 🙂 (The Beautiful People, I mean.) Camp Nano is going pretty well. I’m keeping up with my goal, so that’s good. Loved your answers!
    <3,
    Zane

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing your writing process, Puff the Magic Chicken! (You said I could call you that, okay?) I did the Beautiful People meme this month too, and you can check out my post on my blog, (because, um, where else would I keep it?).
    Anyway.
    I have recently fallen in love with the Dear Evan Hansen cast recording too! It is so beautiful and heartbreaking, and Evan is so very sad and easy to relate too. Broadway is a huge part of my life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! And yes, yes I did. XD
      Ah nice! I should go check that out then! 🙂

      Yesssss. I totally agree! It’s so sad and relatable and beautiful and ajsowhcj. Do you have a favorite song?

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Yesss. ;_; I’m actually listening to them all right now and “Words Fail” just went and now I’m dead. Ahhh … I’d say my favorite is … I love them all so much. Possibly “Requiem”, “You Will Be Found”, or maybe “Disappear”.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Your process sounds pretty similar to mine in some ways (namely the never actually finishing anything all the way and using Pinterest and procrastination to get yourself “in the writing mood”). I also did the Beautiful People meme this month. It’s lots of fun to share and to learn about fellow writers’ processes.
    There is no shame in not having written anything longer than 35k words! Seriously. I have two completed first drafts, both of which are under 27k. So I have to believe that this is ok.
    Huzzah for Dear Even Hansen! It’s so fantastic and emotional and I must second the Story Sponge and say that “Words Fail” is also my favorite song.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe, yeah … xD Yeah there’s definitely no shame! I just have a hard time remembering that when looking at my own work. 😉
      Yay! Another Dear Evan Hansen fan! 😀 I love “Words Fail” too. Part of the problem with that though is that it’s so deep and heartbreaking I have a hard time listening to it without crying xD

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my gosh I am the exact same with ideas!! I love one and it’s all I can think about for months, and then it just….kinda…disappears! I’ve yet to listen to Dear Evan Hansen – what would you say it the best song? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh cool! I think you’re the first person I’ve found besides me who’s really like that!
      Oh my gosh. Dear Evan Hansen … I honestly don’t think I could choose just one best song because they’re all so good in different ways! What’s your favorite song? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Haha, I relate too much…I’m very much an emotional person so if I don’t feel like writing, then I usually don’t…it’s kind of a problem. Also procrastination. And skipping hard parts. And not editing things. *nods* Very much me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

