Review: The Rose of Winslow Street

Review: The Rose of Winslow Street

‘Ello, lovelies! I hath returned! With a review for you. Yeah … this technically isn’t a normal posting day but … I didn’t want to just post a review on a normal day I guess? 😐 And I also dislike having to wait to post something that I already finished writing … I don’t even know …
You can just count this as the post I missed yesterday … XD
I’m slowly narrowing down my TBR list on Goodreads … but haven’t been reading nearly enough … anyway!

**Warning: Very much spoilers in review below. Read at your own risk, children. Right. That is all. You have been warned. **

11547872.jpg

via

(This cover is so pretty …)

The last thing Libby Sawyer and her father expected upon their return from their summer home was to find strangers inhabiting a house that had been in their family for decades. Widower Michael Dobrescu brought his family from Romania to the town of Colden, Massachusetts with a singular purpose: to claim the house willed to him long ago. Since neither party has any intention of giving up their claim, a fierce legal battle ensues between the two families.

When important documents go missing from the house, Libby suspects Michael is the culprit. Determined to discover the truth behind the stolen papers, Libby investigates, only to find more layers of mystery surrounding Michael and his family. Despite their rivalry, Libby finds herself developing feelings for this man with the mysterious past.

As a decision about the house looms in the courts, Libby must weigh the risks of choosing to remain loyal to her family or give her heart to a man whose intentions and affections are less than certain.

Yay Goodreads for the summary. XD

Add on Goodreads — Buy on Amazon

Content: er … 15+ Verbal and like … mental abuse, attempted suicide, description of rape without a ton of details  but …, and then some romance. The content kind of heavy, honestly. It’s mostly Mirella’s backstory, but I was also like … yelling at Libbie’s dad which isn’t like … that much content but it was like … he basically kind of mistreated his kid like really badly and like … argghhh and like … yeah. Anyway.

My review: Oh my word, I really loved most of this book. I haven’t read that much hi-fi Christian romance (Read: three Julie Klassen books, I think? And like … Melanie Dickerson though personally I don’t really feel like that counts as the general historical Christian romance fiction stuff … and maybe one or two others), so … I haven’t really seen all that much variety and everything so I was expecting something else really? But, gahhh … this was beautiful.

The romance. Okay, the romance. It was displayed really well, in my personal opinion. It wasn’t cheesy, it wasn’t insta-love, it wasn’t all physical attraction, there were problems and everything, and it was like real love. And it was fabulous. Libbie and Michael are … I don’t even know. But I was kind of just sitting there shipping the whole thing. And the switched perspectives make it even better cause you can see both of their struggles and just … *sighs in contentment*

The entire thing … wasn’t just fluff. It was all so deep and beautiful and the backstories and it’s just like … Children. Please let me go and give everyone a hug and deliver several punches in the faces of people who need it. THEY ALL NEED HUGS! HUGS FOR EVERYONE! EVERYONE NEEDS HUGS!

Libbie’s dad annoyed me so much. And the entire thing with Jason and what’s her face his wife … please let me throat punch you, darling. Okay yeah, not really. XD Sorry guys. I just get kind of emotional …

Vhat else?
The entire thing with the house (otherwise known as … a lot of the plot I think. XD ) was displayed really well. Again, the duel perspectives was excellent, letting us into the minds and viewpoints of both parties and forcing us to continually go back and forth and back on forth on who we support. Especially since both of their cases were so good. It’s basically just whacking you in the head with a longing for both of them to get what they want even if that’s not possible.
I’m fairly satisfied with how that actually turned out though. It … wasn’t what I would have ever thought happening during the story, and truthfully I kinda wish Libbie and Michael just got married and stayed in the house there (though I understand why Michael couldn’t let that happen … *makes strangling gesture* Libbie’s dad … Ugh. That fellow. I mean, I felt sad for him buuuuut …)

Okay yeah.

The ending … wasn’t that satisfying honestly. I mean, it was but it wasn’t? As in, I’m happy with how it turned out and everything worked out well but … as I closed the book after reading the last sentence it wasn’t with the shedding of tears and the exclamation of “Oh my word, I love that book, the ending was perfect. That was so fabulous.” It was more like “What …? That’s it?” I mean, don’t get me wrong … I’m happy how it turned out but … I don’t know. Thinking back to the plot right now I can’t even remember why I didn’t feel satisfied? It should be satisfying but … it’s not. I think it just might have been wrapped out slightly too fast, with all the loose ends tied in a big knot instead of carefully being woven in. I think I wanted to see Libbie and Michael get married, not just hear it. I wanted to see them with the kids living happily, not just read “oh hey. They’re married for a couple of years. Yeah. Now let’s get the perfume over there.” It wasn’t the beautiful description and emotional ending that I wanted. It kind of just felt like “oh yep. The story is over now … shoo … everything is wrapped up, what more do you want?”

And … yep. XD

The characters, I loved.

The setting was … well done … I mean, it was nicely historical and everything.

The romance was beautiful.

The … deepness was amazing.

The content … yeah … it was slightly darker and just a tad disturbing. It was realistic but like … *straggling gesture* *needs to give everyone hugs* *cracks knuckles* *coughs awkwardly* Sorry for my general emotionness and all that … XD I just … I get incredibly overprotective of basically everyone and yeahhhh … *coughs* *shuffles away*

And … I feel like I had something else to say but I can’t think of anything …

Overalllll: *presents the book a rating* I give it a 4.5/5 stars.

One thought on “Review: The Rose of Winslow Street

Leave a Reply

