Beautiful People – Couples Edition

Beautiful People – Couples Edition

And hello once more, my lovlies! As you can see from the title of this post I hath decided to jump on the transportation vehicle for people who play musical instruments (*coughs* the … bandwagon … *coughs*) and do the lovely Beautiful People hosted by Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In.

As this happens to be February (wow. Who knew, right? 😉 ) this is the Couples Edition! *jazz hands* annnd … I don’t actually … happen to write many couple but eh. This will still be fun. 😀

beautifulpeopleblogbutton-pf2_zps5c587c9e

Right! So the couple that I am using (… as this is the only couple I’ve written at all I think? *headdesks*) are Paul and Annalia from a novel entitled Rose that I wrote at the age of 13 I think a few NaNoWriMo’s back. It was a historical romance. I was a 13-year-old who knew nothing of either romance or the time period I was writing in (Regency era Britain. I still know nothing, to tell you the truth) it was … not that good.

I still have that somewhere if you’d like to torture yourself. 😛

Anyway, since then, as I do like the plot that I’ve decided to rewrite it at a future date in modern times and have like … actual meaningful romance. Yup, yup. XD Okay, I’m going to stop talking about my novel now and talk … about two of the characters in said novel. Yeeeah. Let’s do this!

  • How and why did they meet?

In le original I believe Annalia crashed into Paul when walking home from her friend Heather’s house. Sheet music went places. Love at first sight, blah blah blah. 😛

In the revised edition they’ll probably meet at … the Duck Pond. Or the Pond. Or … I’m not sure what I’m going to call it but it’s this awesome lil coffee shop that college students hang out at and it’s duck pond themed (which is basically a reference to the old version of Rose cause there was a duck pond but … yeah). They tend to hang out there and it just … happened?

  • What were their first impressions of each other?

Right! So OV (old version): Love at first sight. Wheee. *cracks up* Hang on, lemme track this down. I must warn you, it was very cringy.

Spring is in the air. The sky is so blue, the grass sprouting on the edge of the dirt road is sweet and green. Birds chirp and lovely flowers grow. I am paying attention to this, and my music, nothing else, when I crash right into someone.

“Oh my goodness! I am so sorry!” I cry as my piano books crash onto the ground. I stoop down and grab a few, but alas, the binding is not secure and pages flutter out.

“No, it’s my fault. I wasn’t looking where I was going and walking backwards and…” I looked up at the sound his voice. It wasn’t exactly deep, but it was smooth and gentle. I look up and he stares down at me.

His hair is a deep chocolaty-brown and growing into his eyes, which are a lighter brown. He must be at least half a foot taller than me but that’s a bit hard to judge from the ground. His mouth is slightly open as he stares at me and he appears to be sightly flustered.

I have a sudden urge to make sure I look okay.

He holds out a hand, which I take and we stand there for a few moments, in which I try to brush the dirt off my dress and make sure my hair isn’t too crazy, without trying to appear that I’m doing it, of course.

The time seems to go on forever until he speaks, “I am truly sorry about your books.”

Books? Oh, yes. I bend down and finish gathering up the spare pages. I can’t look him in the eye when I speak so I reply while I am still down near the ground.

“Oh, it is nothing really. It was my fault. I was paying more attention to the weather than to the road.”

I am almost about to stand up when I notice a book that isn’t mine lying in the dust. I pick it up and brush it off.

“Is this yours?” I ask and hold it out. He takes it.

“Thank you.”

*coughs* Yup. That was a bit long and you probably didn’t really need to read it but … yeaah.

NV: I haven’t actually figured this out yet. I was debating whether to make her like … annoyed at him or like … “He’s not like really cute and he looks all raggedy but he’s reading this book I like so.” I don’t know. But yep. *twiddles thumbs*

  • How would they prove their love for each other?

Ahhh … I’m not sure. Basically anything?

  • What would be an ideal date?

NV: Going to the Duck Pond, then like … just hanging out and Annalia could play the piano and … *stares off* Yeah. I think they would both love just talking.

  • Is there something they emphatically disagree on?

So Annalia is an atheist, and Paul is like a really strong Christian. Which poses problems and … yeah. There’s a bit of a plot point revolving around this.

  • List 5 “food quirks” they know about each other. (Ex: how they take their coffee, if they’re allergic to something, etc….and feel free to mention other non-food quirks!)

NV: Right. Let’s think of something … They eat at the Duck Pond a lot so …

Annalia doesn’t drink coffee, she only likes tea. Paul has slowly been narrowing down the varieties of tea and is pretty sure that her favorite is probably Chamomile. She’s annoyed by people just eating muffin tops, and thinks it’s an injustice to all of the rest of the muffin. She’s mildly lactose intolerant, which it took Paul a while to figure out.  And … I’m not sure if this is five. She doesn’t like just bread with butter, and always has jam or something on it.

Paul reaaally likes coffee and drinks a lot of it in basically any variety. He doesn’t really care how diluted with cream and sugar it is or if it’s a coffee drink, he just kind of likes the general taste of coffee. He’ll basically eat any type of food and doesn’t really have any preferences. He eats a ridiculous amount of pasta, just because it’s cheap and he can make it himself.

  • What’s one thing they know about each other that no one else does?

Gah … these questions are just solidifying that I need to develop them and the entire novel more …

I honestly don’t have an answer to this question at the moment?

  • What’s one thing that they keep a secret from each other?

Aye … I don’t think there was anything in the OV and I haven’t developed the NV enough yet … *snods awkwardly*

  • How would their lives be different without each other?

Well … they … wouldn’t know each other? *shifts awkwardly*

  • Where do they each see this relationship going?

Mawwiage! That bwessed awwaingment that dweam wivven a dweam. *grins evilly*


And that’s all folks! Ah man. I have a little over 25,000 words written of the old Rose … *strokes novel* I just re-read bits and parts of it aren’t actually half bad … Y’know, I don’t know why I’m offering this but if you’d like to read it, I can get it in a Google doc and either post the link somewhere or send it to you guys if I have your email … I don’t know. Anyone interested in reading it? 😛 It’s a first draft written from a while ago and it’s not going to go anywhere but … yeah. *coughs*

Oh, and for anyone interested I actually have a Pinterest board for the new Rose. XD

So have any of you done Beautiful People this month? What did you think of Annalia and Paul? Are y’all planning anything for Valentine’s day? Or have you like … done anything for Valentine’s day over last weekend?

And … I think that’s everything. Thanks for reading! I hope you have a fantastic day! Until later, stay awesome~

 

5 thoughts on “Beautiful People – Couples Edition

  1. OH MY GOSH THESE GUYS!!! Okay, this is weird, but I actually thought Rose wasn’t half-bad and now I’m really excited to see this in a modern-day version and yeah. Because I really think it was a good story … juuuust hi-fi isn’t really your thing? Not that I think you couldn’t write it if you wanted to (you totally could … and there’s not really all THAT much to know about the Regency era … except using the correct dialogue and not having girls wear pants … *nods*) but yeah. Contemporary is your thing and … this got awkward. Let’s move on.

    “Mawwiage! That bwessed awwaingment that dweam wivven a dweam.” THIS SERIOUSLY MADE ME LAUGH OUT LOUD EVERYONE’S STARING STOOOOP!!!!

    Planning something for Valentine’s day? *clears throat* Uh … no? Like, seriously, I’m just over here like, “Y’all have fun with your EMOTIONS.” Not really. But kinda. I need to shop …… eesh.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

