Review: The False Prince

Review: The False Prince

12432220

The False Prince is the thrilling first book in a brand-new trilogy filled with danger and deceit and hidden identities that will have readers rushing breathlessly to the end.

In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king’s long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage. Sage knows that Conner’s motives are more than questionable, yet his life balances on a sword’s point—he must be chosen to play the prince or he will certainly be killed. But Sage’s rivals have their own agendas as well.

As Sage moves from a rundown orphanage to Conner’s sumptuous palace, layer upon layer of treachery and deceit unfold, until finally, a truth is revealed that, in the end, may very well prove more dangerous than all of the lies taken together.

An extraordinary adventure filled with danger and action, lies and deadly truths that will have readers clinging to the edge of their seats.

Credit Goodreads

Add on Goodreads — Buy on Amazon

‘Eye! Surprise, surprise, I’m actually posting a review of this! XD And on the correct day for once! I basically just needed an excuse to ramble about how awesome this book is … XD

Content: 10 and up. Description of … wounds. Someone dies, someone gets whipped, people get cut, murdered etc. There aren’t any really terrible descriptions or anything though. No actual swearing! (Yay!) it says stuff like “he cursed”. Also uses the word “devils” a lot, as in “you better plead to the devils.” etc.  Except … not exactly like that … *coughs**snods*

My review: Maaaan. I loved this book. Yes, I said that before. XD I shall make a list for you of what is so amazing about it.

  1. The action. This book is so incredibly fast paced and a page turner and is amazing. The pacing is actually really nice, because it doesn’t feel rushed, but it’s still like … yeah.
  2. The characters. Dude. I had such a huge crush on Sage when I was twelve or whenever. XD All of the characters are really well-developed and change and everything.
  3. The plot twists. I’m not gonna say more … but it was really well done, and reading through the book again it was kind of brilliant really. XD
  4. The settttttinnng. Ms. Nielsen really has a good setting here. It’s in a fantasy land, and you can just tell that it’s developed pretty well. There’s all this stuff happening, and wars etc. And I’m pretty sure she didn’t slack off that much. They just make sense. *shrugs*
  5. And … other things that I am forgetting. XD

At that age where I originally read it, this book was so amazing for me. I truly loved it. The writing style may be a little bit young for me now (or maybe I should just be reading other books with this mindset …) but I still really enjoy it. I can’t … think of anything that would make you not want to read it …. *stares off into the distance while I ponder this* I would very highly recommend it to lovers of action of all ages, but specifically all y’all in middle school, I suppose? Yep.

My current rating: 4/5 stars

My rating when I originally read it 😉 : 6/5 stars

7 thoughts on “Review: The False Prince

  1. *finds it odd that I read this review and was like, “Oh, that’s super clean! What she talking about?”* *feels guilty about not caring whether people are whipped or not* *shrugs* *is not squeamish about violence* *should probably be shot for insensitivity* 😉 I always feel so awful when I read people’s reviews and they’re like, “Yeah, there was a lot of violence … not a fan …” And I’m like, “I … don’t care?” XD This girl was raised on cowboy movies, mmkay? I suckled the fangs of cobras. (wait, what?)

    Anyway. I see you have 13 followers! Way to go, girl!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Honestly I also feel like it’s super clean, even though I wrote that there was a lot of violence? Like I totally get what you mean, and violence also doesn’t effect me that much. Even if I haven’t suckled on the fangs of cobras like you have. 😉 (*coughs* I honestly probably like it that much more because of the violence originally … it made it … cooler … I just felt the need to write it in content so people didn’t die. XD ) Anyway … not sure what I’m trying to say here … XD

      Oh, yep! That I do! Thank you! Even though … I did nothing to get these followers … they were just crazy people. 😛 (Which is a compliment, btw)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do the same thing. I’m like, “There was blood and stuff. So if you don’t like blood, don’t read this book. *drops mic*” I keep catching myself almost forgetting to mention the violence … *sigh*
        Ooh, I wish I had more crazy people following me, you know … other than you … 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I love this book! 😀 I actually just read the first book of a new series she’s writing, which is set in the Roman empire and is really cool. I’m not going to say I liked it as much as the False Prince series because I adore princes, but…it’s good too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cool! 😀
      Ooh, that was the one with … the mining slave dude and the bulla and Caela and that one girl, right? *coughs* *goes to look this up instead of referring to it in such an odd manner* I’m pretty sure I’ve read that, too. I’ve been meaning to re-read it (Primarily because … if I remember correctly it’s incredibly historically correct and has nice lil tidbits of Romanness, and as I am currently studying (and failing at studying) Latin and Roman everything in general and I thought I could pick up information while enjoying the story. XD

      Like

      1. Yup, that’s the one! From what I remember it was accurate (though what do I know? At any rate, it _sounded_ accurate) and interesting to read because I really like learning about Ancient Rome.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

