NaNoWriMo Update (11/17/16)

NaNoWriMo Update (11/17/16)

Hello all! I must apologize for … not posting at all when I said I would … *snods awkwardly* I have been very busy and haven’t actually finished reading anything recently (I’m in a reading funk. And busy *snods*)

Anyway! I am here (and rather late …) to update you on my NaNoWriMo novel! Yay.

So. I currently have 8,200 words (approximately. I did round-up there …) which means … I am very much behind …. See, I’m trying to reach the goal of 30,000 (Only doing YWP, by the way) but that means I should currently have … 17,000. That … kind of speaks for itself.

If this was any other year of NaNo, I would probably be running around in circles, tearing my hair out, and crying tears of my need to more than double my current word count. But the funny thing is … I don’t actually feel that bad about it? I don’t know. I’m not sure if it’s because of the new beta site and the different feel to it, or because this is the first year I’m attending a school besides homeschool, or maybe it’s because everything is just so busy this year but … I don’t really feel like losing this NaNo (and oh, I will. Don’t you doubt it. I am not going to get to 30,000 by the end of the month) is so … bad?

Yep. Anyway. That’s my mindset right now. *shrugs*

The actual novel … is actually going pretty well. I started out with rewriting my 2014 novel titled Through The Mist because … I didn’t like the writing style. I wanted more description and I didn’t want to have to go through the old manuscript and edit that in there so I decided to rewrite it. Anyway, that was my plan at least. LITTLE DID I KNOW I would get sudden inspiration for a completely different novel like … a day before NaNo started, and would want to write it.

I decided to be a good little person, though, telling myself “Sarah. The new plot bunny is not at all ready to be written. You have been planning this rewrite for several months. Don’t do something else.” And … that worked okayish? I wrote a prologue totally different to my original and I love it. And then … it kind of went downhill. See, the beginning starts out on earth until it later switches to a different planet/dimension. And … the earth part is how shall I put this …? Incredibly boring to write. It’s necessary, and not like terrible or anything but … it’s not the most exciting thing ever. And on top of that, I wasn’t even that excited to rewrite this book anymore.

So … I was on like day four, and already into the “Ugh. I don’t want to do NaNo anymore.” Thing which … normally happens at day say … twenty-five when I need to write 5,000 words to catch up.

I decided to cheat on NaNo, and write two novels simultaneously.

In the past, I’ve been pretty rigid about NaNo. The whole “Write the entire novel from scratch, don’t include anything you’ve written before, write one novel, etc. etc.” thing always … made sense, I guess? And it worked for me. But … it didn’t work this year.

I started my plot bunny novel, and have written a bunch of that, but I kept my like … two or three thousand words I’d written in Through The Mist because … that was my entire first week’s work and … I couldn’t bear to just throw it away.

So yep. That’s what I’ve been doing. I’m currently a NaNo rebel running from the NaNo police as I die a NaNo death because I’m still incredibly behind. 😀

But honestly, it’s like … if I hadn’t done NaNo I wouldn’t have these 8,000 words I have right now. If I hadn’t done NaNo at all I would probably not have written anything this month. If I hadn’t done NaNo I wouldn’t have remembered how much fun it is to write.

So, even though I’m y’know … failing and cheating … *coughs awkwardly* I’m still happy I started NaNo, and now I’m sooo much further than I would have been.

Good luck to all of you other NaNoWriMoers out there! Hope you’re having as much fun, and having more luck in the word count department then I am!

Leave a Reply

