Review: Befriending The Beast

Review: Befriending The Beast

31547884

Belle has returned unannounced to the castle to restore her relationship with the king, her father. Her hopes are dashed with the devastating message: “The king refuses to see you.” Convinced that God has led her home, she is unwilling to return to Lord and Lady Kiralyn. But will the king offer her any other choice?

Time is running out and she has a life-changing decision to make. When tragedy strikes, will she and her father be pulled further apart or knit together? Could she stay at the castle even if she will never see her father again?

Add on Goodreads — Buy on Amazon

Rating: Content wise, anyone. Maybe 10 and up? Falling off of a horse and sickness (basically no details, and … nothing else.

My rating: Short, sweet and beautiful, Befriending the Beast was really enjoyable to read. As a fairytale re-telling I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but it was masterfully told without (somehow) romance or magic.

Overall, it’s fairly short, definitely more of a novella than a novel.

The Christian content was really amazing. Straightforward and told masterfully without feeling preachy or anything.

I empathized with Belle, but didn’t really connect with any of the characters very deeply. They were written well, but I didn’t really feel like I got to know them really well, if that makes sense at all. The king’s development was amazing though, and even the side characters all had unique personalities.

I think my only problem is that it didn’t really feel … long enough? Don’t get me wrong, the plot is fully developed and the ending doesn’t leave me unsatisfied or anything. I do feel like everything just could have … been expanded a little bit? It passed a bit too quickly for my taste, and though it wrapped up very nicely I would have liked seeing more of … well, everything.

Rating: Overall, 4/5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Review: Befriending The Beast

Leave a Reply

