Review: Worlds Unseen

Review: Worlds Unseen

Apologies in advance, this review is going to be a little bit different. 😉

5170684

Beauty and terror await beyond the veil in this classic Christian fantasy.
The Council for Exploration Into Worlds Unseen believed there was more to reality than the Empire had taught them—but when they came a little too close to the truth, tragedy ended their work, leaving the terrifying and beautiful world behind their own still hidden.

Forty years later, one of the last Council members entrusts an ancient relic to the orphaned young woman Maggie Sheffield: a scroll that reveals the truth at last. Along with Nicolas Fisher, a Gypsy who hears things no one else can, Maggie sets out on a journey across the Seventh World to deliver the scroll to those who can use it.

But the price of truth may be too high: for Maggie and Nicolas are tearing at the Veil between the seen and the unseen, between good and evil, between forgotten past and treacherous future.

Monstrous forces are already on their trail.

And when the Veil grows thin enough, it’s anyone’s guess what may come through.

Add on Goodreads — Buy on Amazon

This cover is gorgeous. It just looks so pretty, don’t you think? I mean, don’t just a book by its cover and all that, but it just makes me like this book. 😛

The summary up there does a really good job of describing it BTW. I mean this, coming from someone who, ah, doesn’t actually read the summary of most books, that if you’re interested in this at all from reading my review read the summary … if you haven’t already, cause you’re not weird like me.

To the review!

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: 12 and up (not based on content)

Content: Violence (nothing gory), one kiss (not described), bunch o’ people dying (I think …)

My Review: One of the main things that I must say about this book is that … I took a three-month break. In the middle. I feel like I need to explain myself a little bit there (hence the review … did ya know most of my reviews are just me feeling like I need to explain myself? 😉 ) I didn’t take this break because I hated the book but felt like I had to finish it, I think I took it because … I wasn’t quite prepared to read this book. It’s fantasy. Definitely fantasy. And (I’m pretty sure I said this elsewhere on the blog …) fantasy is a genre that … I kind of have a love/hate relationship going with. I love the worlds, I love the magic/whatever there is in it, I love the creatures and everything going on there but … I can’t read it. I mean, I obviously can (I read this book, didn’t I? 😉 ) but I … it doesn’t agree with me. I like my stuff jam-packed with action and a pretty simple writing style most of the time and yep.

I feel like I’m getting off topic.

That said, the reason why I took a three-month break is because my brain didn’t really have a “fantasy” switch when I began reading it. How I got to 47% is beyond me, but somehow I did. This writing style is … unique (or maybe I haven’t read enough fantasy …) It’s beautiful in its own way and I actually really like it, but it takes a different kind of mindset then the one that I have. I’m used to reading these books and like … absorbing them. This one took some chewing.

Rachel Starr Thomson’s characters are all personal and unique

That being said there are a lot of them. The story switches from several perspective, making *cough cough* coming back from a break *cough cough* rather confusing, at least at the beginning. Most of the cast fluctuates like a flowing river (why the metaphors in this review again, Sarah?) which was … interesting. At some parts it annoyed me a bit because I really liked that one character (you all who read it may know who I’m talking about here … he did come back so that’s good but …) and then he just poofed, but in other places it was nice because we didn’t have to remember them all the time (unless they suddenly came back …)

The story was filled with this one allegory (is that the right word?) about The King (translate: Christ) who was once on earth but then went away and is coming back. *snods* Except she obviously described it better.

There’s some magical/witchcraft stuff in here, along with some nature magical creatures type thing and ‘seeing’ into the future and stuff. But it’s basically just everything described in the summarry so … nothing bad.

Overall rating: 3/5 stars. I liked it, but I didn’t love it. It was a good book, but I don’t think it was really meant for me. (Mainly because of that fantasy thing, again)

Leave a Reply

