Review: The School For Good and Evil

Review: The School For Good and Evil

This book … I’m so confused.

16248113.jpg

The first kidnappings happened two hundred years before. Some years it was two boys taken, some years two girls, sometimes one of each. But if at first the choices seemed random, soon the pattern became clear. One was always beautiful and good, the child every parent wanted as their own. The other was homely and odd, an outcast from birth. An opposing pair, plucked from youth and spirited away.

This year, best friends Sophie and Agatha are about to discover where all the lost children go: the fabled School for Good & Evil, where ordinary boys and girls are trained to be fairy tale heroes and villains. As the most beautiful girl in Gavaldon, Sophie has dreamed of being kidnapped into an enchanted world her whole life. With her pink dresses, glass slippers, and devotion to good deeds, she knows she’ll earn top marks at the School for Good and graduate a storybook princess. Meanwhile Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks, wicked pet cat, and dislike of nearly everyone, seems a natural fit for the School for Evil.

But when the two girls are swept into the Endless Woods, they find their fortunes reversed—Sophie’s dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School For Good, thrust amongst handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.. But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are…?

The School for Good & Evil is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one.

Credit Goodreads

Goodreads — Amazon

Content: I’d say … 12 and up? Maybe 13? There’s some violence in here which I won’t say is R rated gruesome but is slightly gruesome. There’s also obsession with romance. Magic. Other stuff? I’m sorry, I should have been writing some of this down when I read the book originally, I can’t remember, and the book is extremely thick so it’d take forever to go through …

My review: *warning: probably a couple minor spoilers. Sorry ’bout that, I tried to not write any but I’m sure a few got out* Yep. I’m so confused. So the summary sounded pretty good, but as we all know, never judge a book by it’s summary. The book started out well enough, there was Sophie, with her incredibly elaborate hygiene makeup routines and her “good deeds” which … aren’t that good, waiting to get taken to the school for Good, in this interesting little village that reads fairytales and are afraid of getting taken. There was Agatha her “friend” (read “good deed”) who everyone assumed would go to Evil, but just wanted to stay home with Sophie and her cat. They get taken to the School, and as the summary says, the schools they assumed they’d go in get swapped.

Then … they begin adjusting to the school and Sophie gets a few top scores in class. My brain, I’m not sure if anyone else is with me, at this point thought something like “Cool! So like, she actually is Evil and will get awesome at Evil and stuff and Agatha is really good so yeah … makes sense *snods*” But … my brain was wrong? There’s a lot of fighting and trying to switch, and Agatha for some reason sticking with her good-for-nothing rotten “friend” and Sophie pining over Tedros, this one prince, and … school happens? There’s also a lot of my brain thinking this will make sense at some point and that the evil/good thing is now all figures out before it all changes.

Then … Sophie goes bonkers, Agatha changes from ugly to pretty, fighting between schools happens, you keep thinking Sophie is now officially evil and Agatha good,  there’s this weird thing where this one guy goes really creepy, there’s this random cupid, Sophie may or may not have killed someone so you think she’s really evil, there’s this bit about appearances not showing if you’re good or evil, Tedros not liking Sophie and (Major spoiler territory) being Agatha’s “prince” (end spoilers) and … utter confusion.

I am honestly not sure what to think.

Then the ending happens and it’s … finished. (Y’know, besides more books in the series)

So, I don’t know if I just read it too fast or in weird chunks or something but … I don’t know? And I’m also honestly not sure what to rate it. Oh, and to get rid of some of my confusion and see if other people liked it, I went on Goodreads and read some reviews (both positive and negative) and I … agreed with both of them? PLEASE HELP ME! THANK YOU! The only thing I’m sure about is that this would convert really well into a movie.

Agatha was actually a really good character. I liked her and was rooting for her. And Sophie was a really good character in the aspect that … I hated her. Most of the time. So I dunno. I am seriously confused.

My final rating: 3/5 stars

Sorry if that was all just me ranting at myself and the book! 😉

2 thoughts on “Review: The School For Good and Evil

  1. I personally loved the school for good and evil when I read it… I’m not sure, but I read the second one first, and it explained a lot of things in book 1. I’m currently saving up for book 3, I love the trilogy… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

